Operadagen Rotterdam shortlisted for Classical:NEXT Innovation Award

Operadagen Rotterdam is shortlisted for the prestigious Classical:NEXT Innovation Award, being the only Dutch organisation nominated for an award. The nominations were issued by a committee of international colleagues. The 3.000 registered delegates of the international network will decide as of March 1 which organisation on the shortlist of 10 will become the winner. The organisation of Classical:NEXT will announce the winner of the Innovation Award on May 28, during the closing ceremony of Classical:NEXT in Rotterdam.

Vote now >

The nomination committee praises Operadagen Rotterdam for being "an audience-friendly festival that presents boundary-crossing performances, often with an actual theme such as refugees and equality. The line-up encompasses a wide range of performing arts, from sound walks, folky comedies and live games to state of the art music theatre by top directors such as Christoph Marthaler."

Artistic efforts acknowledged

Artistic director Guy Coolen: "It has been wonderful to make the longlist, but the shortlist is an even greater honor. Furthermore, it is a true acknowledgement for our efforts to give opera new meaning. Young professionals are willing to try opera as a medium. The public and press are receptive towards a freer form of the traditional repertoire." The new edition of Operadagen Rotterdam is themed 'New Ways', refering to the ambition and the way of restructuring society. On March 16th, Operadagen Rotterdam will announce the definitive program.

The nominees

Ensemble Resonanz: Urban String (Germany)
Erased Tapes (United Kingdom)
Human Requiem by Rundfunkchor Berlin (Germany)
Mannes School of Music (United States)
Daisuke Muranaka & Orchestra Afia: "Nature and Music" (Japan)
National Sawdust (United States)
Nova et Vetera (Colombia)
Operadagen Rotterdam (The Netherlands)
Podium Festival Esslingen (Germany)
Tonali Competition (Germany)
Van Beethoven – The Virtual Reality Orchestra by Los Angeles Philharmonic (United States)

More information >